Skip to content
Tags

Putting it on paper (one)

06/11/2011

Writing the script seems like only doing 33% of the work. The only control I seem to have over what appears on the screen is in the dialogue. Someone said in class that dialogue is something that directors shy away from in film. They would rather show the story and show the emotional content using the actor’s skill. Yes, there is this thing called the objective corollary but I’m worried an i won’t get it; especially in a short film. Like a short written story, it’s ok for the clues left un-discussed by the body of the work fall into place after the event I suppose; but what if they were missed. There were jokes coming thick and fast in “George Lucas in Love”; I was still seeing new ones on the third viewing, but who, except for students and critics get the luxury of the second, third, fifth viewing of a short piece. In a consumable age you only get the one shot at hooking your viewer/reader.

Two
Why am I worried I think it must be because I want to put in what I see in my minds eye. I want to put the camera angles in, the light effects, even what expression the actor should give in close up. Is that what l should be doing with a screenplay? Without control over that I feel I am only kicking something off and not finishing it. It does not sit well with me.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

