Skip to content

Red Eyed at Sunrise

21/10/2011

Red Eyed at Sunrise

Heavy

Crusty cornered

Bruised behind the lid

Awareness blurry with fighting fatigue

The first bright crack in the black sky outlines a cloud

The bright twinkling of Heathrow’s stack on the horizon attenuates.

I rub my eyes with bed-numbed fingers till, like the colour seeping into sky

My eyes are red as the first hint of the sun flames over the grey fields to paint their soil.

It boils the leaves at the edge of their hedges and I blink at the brilliance.

In that blink the sky goes from purple to red, cloud becomes clouds,

Shadows stretch in a Dali-esque parody of their progenitors

I mine the sleep and roll it between my fingers

My eyes water in the new light

Tears track my cheeks

Yet another day

Before me

Risen

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

